Gmail Unveils Surprising New Feature

Ever sent an email before it was complete? How about adding addresses unaware when replying? Have you ever sent private emails intended for friends or your significant other to coworkers or, worse yet, your boss? It’s probably happened once or twice, and for the accident prone a few more times. If you use Gmail as your primary email client, you may not have to worry about embarrassing deliveries any longer.

As reported in the New York Times, Google is adding a feature to correct human error in the delivery of email for personal and private use that will simply “un-send” messages.

Those connected through Gmail no doubt know Google’s commitment to connectivity. Google attaches itself to sites like Youtube, and third-party sites have no shortage of buttons aimed at attaching yet another site to your profile. Even though Google’s own social network has yet been unsuccessful to be a challenging competitor to sites like Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr, it has been hard at work trying to provide more incentive to bring more users under its service, and this may be it.

The addition of the “undo send” option was formally announced by Google to be made available for those on browsers from PCs as well as mobile apps on tablets and smartphones. This allows a 5-30 second grace period in which a sender can halt the delivery of an email and prevent the receiver from ever getting it.

In order to take advantage of this feature, users will have to manually enable the tool. When they open up the settings, either in the app or in the browser, they will find the option available for them to engage and select the time period in seconds they want the ability to “undo send” their email. Brad Reifler wonders why you wouldn’t give yourself as much time as possible.

Leave a Reply